The Goldfinch: What Does It Mean to Keep a Secret?

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

This book is too complicated for me to convey to you in any sort of detail or even coherently.  I will not be spoiling the overall plot of the book in this review.  I will say that it is about art, specifically a painting called “The Goldfinch” (1654) by Carel Fabritius.  It is about secrets.  It is about boyhood.  And it is about Theo Decker.

It is The Goldfinch (2013) by Donna Tartt and the 2014 winner of the Pulitzer Prize in fiction.

the goldfinch cover

I am a Tartt fan, so reading this book was a way for me to pay homage to her talent.  Although the content of the book often strayed from what I consider to be uplifting, enlightening, or engaging, I still couldn’t put it down, and I could see the beauty of her writing in the grittiest of passages.  To my sensitive friends, I warn you that this…

View original post 1,391 more words

Leave a Reply

